Who We Are

Commemorating the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812 in North Carolina

The North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources has established a team of staff and citizen members to plan for the commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812. The team’s mission is to develop events, activities, and materials to educate the public about “America’s Second War for Independence” and the role of North Carolina and North Carolinians in that war.

War of 1812 Bi-Centennial Planning Committee

LeRae Umfleet (chair)
Administrator, DHR, OAH, NCDCR
lerae.umfleet@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7289
Dr. Paul E. Fontenoy
Curator of Maritime Research and Technology, N.C. Maritime Museum, Division of State History Museums, OAH, NCDCR
paul.fontenoy@ncdcr.gov
(252) 728-7317 ext. 23
Jim Greathouse
Historic Interpreter, Transportation and Local History Museum, Fayetteville, NC
jgreathouse@ci.fay.nc.us
(910) 433-1458
Leisa Greathouse
Curator of Education for the Museum of the Cape Fear Historical Complex, Division of State History Museums, OAH, NCDCR
leisa.greathouse@ncdcr.gov
(910) 486-1330
Keith Hardison
Director, Division of State Historic Sites and Properties, OAH, NCDCR
keith.hardison@ncdcr.gov
(919) 733-7862 x225
LTC (Ret.) Sion H. Harrington III
Former Military Collection Archivist, State Archives, DHR, OAH, NCDCR
haringtnparatrpr@yahoo.com
(910) 583-8385
Elizabeth Hayden
Demographics and Reference Librarian, State Library, NCDCR
elizabeth.hayden@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7467
Michael Hill
Administrator, Research Branch, DHR, OAH, NCDCR
michael.hill@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7288
Earl Ijames
Curator of African-American Culture, NC Museum of History, Division of State History Museums, OAH, NCDCR
earl.ijames@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7961
Karen Ipock
Educational Programs Manager, Tryon Palace, OAH, NCDCR
karen.ipock@ncdcr.gov
(252) 639-3581
Laura Ketcham
Education Outreach Coordinator, DHR, OAH, NCDCR
laura.ketcham@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7395
Sarah Koonts
State Archivist, DHR, OAH, NCDCR
Sarah.koonts@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7339
Dr. Marty D. Matthews
Curator of Research, Division of State Historic Sites and Properties, OAH, NCDCR
marty.matthews@ncdcr.gov
(919) 733-7862 Ext. 224
Dr. Joseph Porter
Chief Curator, N.C. Museum of History, Division of State History Museums, OAH, NCDCR
joe.porter@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7959
Dr. William S. Price, Jr.
Kenan Professor of History (retired), Meredith College; former Director, Division of Archives and History,NCDCR
pricews@bellsouth.net
(919) 786-0283
Kenrick N. Simpson
Military Collection Archivist, State Archives, DHR, OAH, NCDCR
kenny.simpson@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7314
Lori S. Special
Youth Services Consultant, State Library, NCDCR
lori.special@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7425
Dr. Kevin Cherry (Ex Officio)
Deputy Secretary of Archives and History, NCDCR
kevin.cherry@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7280
Ken Howard (Ex Officio)
Director, Division of State History Museums, OAH, NCDCR
ken.howard@ncdcr.gov
(919) 807-7878

Speaker’s Bureau

 The War of 1812 Bicentennial Committee has developed a Speaker’s Bureau to provide qualified speakers for civic groups, clubs, schools, and other organizations eager to learn more about the War of 1812.  For more information, contact LeRae Umfleet at 919-807-7289 or lerae.umfleet@ncdcr.gov

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s